Skip to content Skip to section navigation
Start of section Navigation Start of content

South West SuperTowns

Over the next three to four decades Western Australia's population is set to double.

As part of preparing for this growth and working to decentralise Western Australia's future population, the State Government devised a plan to make regional towns even more attractive places to live in the future.

The Regional Centres Development Program - a program to transform towns into SuperTowns was announced in July 2011.

The SuperTowns vision is to create well-connected communities with access to services, affordable housing, and a diverse range of lifestyle and employment opportunities. This will result in more choices for people living in regional areas and provide an attractive alternative to residing in the metropolitan area.

Of the nine towns initially given SuperTown status, three are in the South West - Collie, Manjimup and Margaret River.

Go to the South West SuperTowns website for more information.