Skip to content Skip to section navigation
Start of section Navigation Start of content

About the Board

The South West Development Commission Board is the governing body responsible to the Regional Development Minister for setting the direction and priorities of the Commission. It has six members selected from community and local government nominations, and Ministerial appointments. The Commission's director is also a member of the Board.

Primary activities

  • Setting the overall strategic direction and goals of the Commission
  • Providing guidance on specific projects and initiatives
  • Formulating Commission policy
  • Reviewing progress at regular intervals to ensure established goals are being achieved
  • Monitoring Commission expenditure
  • Promoting economic development
  • Representing the Commission at relevant meetings and functions
  • Providing a conduit between the Commission and the community
  • Facilitating cooperation between organisations in the region

Current board members

Nick Belyea, Chairperson
Nick Belyea has extensive high-level experience in aviation, tourism and transport, in both the public and private sectors. He spent nine years as CEO of Broome International Airport and worked at the Department of Transport for 10 years overseeing aviation, rail, port and freight policy. He has a house in Augusta and splits his time between Perth and Augusta, increasingly spending more time in the South West.

Jennie Franceschi, Deputy Chairperson
Jennie Franceschi is passionate about regional development and supporting Australian farmers. She is an experienced exporter and lives in Manjimup.

Elected Mayor in October 2013, Gary Brennan has provided leadership to the community to position Bunbury as the State's most progressive regional city and one of the nation's most progressive regional cities. He was raised in Carey Park and whilst his former careers have taken him away from Bunbury at times, it is here where he has spent the majority of his life. His sons and stepchildren were all born in Bunbury. He is married to Dr Robyn Morris and is a grandfather to 5 beautiful children.
His qualifications include Bachelor of Applied Science, Post Graduate Diploma of Public Administration, Graduate Diploma of Business, Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and hold a Masters of Business Administration.  He also serves as a Justice of the Peace and is an Honorary Member of the South Bunbury Rotary Club and patron to the Bunbury City Band, Bunbury Swimming Club and City of Bunbury Surf Life Saving Club.

Tony Dean
Tony brings a wealth of experience in community leadership and a whole of South West perspective to the board. He is currently the president of the Shire of Nannup, was previously the Member for Bunbury, and spent seven years a Bunbury City councillor. He is president of the South West Local Government Association, president of the Warren Blackwood Alliance of Councils, and a state councillor for the Western Australian Local Government Association.

2018/19 Board members Pat Scallan, Jackie Jarvis, Rebecca Ball, Nick Belyea, Jennie Franceschi, Tony Dean and Julie Hillier.