Skip to content Skip to section navigation
Start of section Navigation Start of content

About the South West

Currently more than 178,000 people are residents of the South West of Western Australia. By 2031 it is anticipated about 226,000 people will reside in the region - and it's little wonder why. The region's enviable lifestyle and diverse economy make the South West a popular destination.


The South West is divided into three sub-regions:

  • Bunbury Geographe
  • Capes
  • Southern Forests

Local government areas

There are 12 Local Government Areas in the South West:

City of Bunbury
City of Busselton
Shire of Augusta-Margaret River
Shire of Boyup Brook
Shire of Bridgetown-Greenbushes
Shire of Capel
Shire of Collie
Shire of Dardanup
Shire of Donnybrook-Balingup
Shire of Harvey
Shire of Manjimup
Shire of Nannup


Augusta Margaret River Shire Nannup Shire Manjimup Shire Bridgetown-Greenbushes Shire Boyup Brook Shire Collie Shire Harvey Shire Busselton Shire Donnybrook-Balingup Shire Capel Shire Dardanup Shire City of Bunbury

Useful Links & Documents

The South West region has a wide range of industries

Manufacturing is worth $1.2 billion per annum to the region's economy.

The South West is a great place for families

The South West is a great place for families.

Boranup Forest

The region is renowned for its natural beauty.